Friends

Today was a good day. I spent most of it cleaning up the house, setting up our living room, and preparing for dinner.

Oh, and watching these two.

image

Aren’t they cute?

Two of our best friends are in town for Thanksgiving. We haven’t seen them in about a year, and we finally got to meet their little boy. Tonight, we invited them and 2 other couples over for dinner. A family reunion. One couple couldn’t make it, but the 6 of us and our kids had so much fun.

image

This was dinner. It’s a crappy cell phone pic, but that doesn’t matter. It’s family. We are happy. And even a crappy cell phone pic can’t hide that.

We had spaghetti.

image

Oh, and my fantastic, uber awesome hubby made this for dessert. It’s pumpkin cake with a sugar glaze and chocolate syrup.

It’s pretty much amazing.

Just like hubby.

image

These are our kids. Three couples are represented in this photo. I can’t put into words how much I love this picture. We all went to school together. We were around each other almost daily for years. We went to each other’s graduations, weddings, and now we all have kids.

Just…wow. I love it.

I love these kids.

And I love their parents.

image

And I think I love this picture even more. Squish those cheeks!

And now everyone has gone home. Bug is in bed. It’s just Handsome and I awake now. The dishes are done, the leftovers are put away. It’s quiet. Except for the buzz of one of the dorm refrigerators.

I feel full.

Full of spaghetti and salad.

Full of pumpkin cake.

Full of hot chocolate.

And full of love and life. I have so many things I’m thankful for. I have a beautiful family. We have a new house. We have amazing friends, who are more like family. We have food in our cupboards, gas in our car, lights and water and heat.

And I’m also thankful for the simple things.

image

Simple things, like a light over the sink. And a husband who put a bulb in it. Love this.

Tomorrow, we buy our Christmas tree! And we have found the perfect angel for the top. And my brother will get here tomorrow night. And Thursday we will be surrounded by more friends.

And…I think I just might burst.

Leave a Reply

