Day 4 – Handwashing

This Flats and Handwashing thing has been fun. Really! The diapers are easy to use, simple to clean, and fit Bug great. So far I’ve been able to keep up on the washing, but I have to admit… I don’t really look forward to it.

So far, I’ve been using the bucket I wash in as my wet pail. Every dirty diaper goes right in and soaks all day until I get to the wash after Bug goes to bed. Once I have time, I agitate the diapers with the plunger (I don’t use the bucket lid anymore, it didn’t fit right on the bucket, and I feel I can get the diapers cleaner if I can see them) for a few minutes.

Then I dump the water, fill with HOT and a bit of detergent. Agitate that for a bit, then let it soak. Typically the diapers get several agitate/soak cycles because I work on them during commercials. (Cloth Diaper Confession time!)

After a hot wash, they get a hot rinse with a little bit of white vinegar, then 2 more rinses to make sure they are clean. Then they get wrung out by hand, and hung up on my drying rack under the ceiling fan in the kitchen overnight. So far, they haven’t been completely dry by morning, but once the sun comes out they are all dry by mid-morning.

Tonight, however, I have no interest in washing diapers whatsoever. So I think tomorrow I will be trying the “stomp washing” method with 2 days worth of diapers.

Tonight, I’m planning to go to bed early. I was up until 11:30 last night. Not washing, just watching TV. I can’t do that again, I kept dozing every time I laid down on the floor to play with Bug. Both of us fell asleep on the couch around 4 for about an hour. When she finally woke up, she was still sleepy and fussy, so I got her ready for bed. She’s been asleep in her bed since 6. I think I’m going to aim for bed by 9.

For now, I’m hanging out with my family and watching Say Yes To The Dress. Oh, and eating sherbet with mini chocolate chips on top.

I miss Handsome.

Leave a Reply

