Day 5 – What’s working? And some other stuff.

Day 5 already? Hard to believe this week is almost up! It actually hasn’t been too bad. We’ve kept up with the challenge, and I haven’t really missed our regular diapers much at all. Even going out!

Speaking of going out, Bug and I made a trip to Wally World today. The pets were out of food, so we bought a potty!
20130524-201359.jpg

It’s a nifty one that converts into a training seat and step stool. And it’s green. And it was only $10. If I had ONLY gotten a training seat, it was more! Sigh… doesn’t make sense… but I guess it makes cents, so that’s what matters, right? (badumching!)

Ahem… Here’s Bug trying it out. We tried it a few times today, but nothing to show for it yet. We will keep trying though.

20130524-201407.jpg

I’m really not sure what I would do if she actually peed, or even poo’d on this thing… Probably cry. I mean really, why am I even doing this? Why would I want to hurry her up? I already miss my little baby, and now she’s almost walking, almost talking, and growing up WAY TOO FAST!

In other news, I found diaper pins today. It was like Where’s Waldo trying to find these suckers… I ended up asking for help. They were on the bottom shelf, between onesies and underpants. But they were right above the Gerber prefolds… so I guess that made sense. Sorta.

20130524-201422.jpg

I tried them on one diaper. I stabbed myself once. I ran them through my hair to try and get them to work better… Gonna try the soap trick next. They cost me a whole dollar though… I wanted to try them, to say I did. The jury is still out on how often I will use them.

And now we begin the part of this post that has to do with the blogging prompt! What’s been working, and what hasn’t? Up until the most recent wash, I’ve been using my bucket and plunger system. BORING! Seriously…And it seemed to take forever. The last load I did in the bucket was 7 flats and 2 covers and the wet bag from my diaper bag. Way too much. I rinsed and rinsed and rinsed. And just for fun I rinsed again.

So today, since I skipped washing last night (intentionally) I had 2 days worth of diapers. It was about 9 flats and flour sack towels, and 5 covers. One flat was a super duper poopy one*. Too much for the bucket. But they had been soaking in the bucket, so I plugged up the tub and dumped them in. I added some HOT water and started swirling them around by hand (with gloves, EW!). That water was gross. I blame the poop.

Drained the icky water, wrung everything out, made sure nothing was still folded, and ran new HOT water with detergent. Then I swirled, scrubbed, and sloshed until I was satisfied they were clean. It really didn’t take as long as I thought it would.

Drained, wrung, filled again with HOT water and vinegar. By this time, I had somehow gotten water into one of my gloves. Not the most pleasant feeling. So I ditched the gloves, and had the bright idea of using the plunger to agitate my rinse cycle!

20130524-201436.jpg

It worked like a DREAM!! After the vinegar rinse, I rinsed them all by hand in cold water under the faucet, then filled the tub with warm water for a final rinse. Then I wrung those puppies out, rolled my covers in a beach towel, and hung them out to dry.

20130524-201447.jpg

I couldn’t have asked for a better day to dry diapers… Until today, I’ve been drying them on a rack under a ceiling fan overnight because I haven’t been able to wash until after Bug goes to bed. Today I washed during nap time, and still had hours of wonderful, breezy daylight left! They were dry in an HOUR.

The moral of the story (and the answer to the question) is the bucket isn’t working for me. I’ve found a new way to do things that I feel gets my diapers cleaner, with less work. Scrubbing in the tub is the way to go!

I do like having the bucket full of water during the day though to drop dipes into as we change them. To be safe, I keep it in the bathroom, door closed all day. Bug is never in there unless it’s bath time.

*Super Duper poo story time! Some may know that Bug has had a hard time going the past 2 days. She’s only managed to get hard bunny balls out, and she’s been feeling icky because of it. Yesterday I fed her a bunch of strawberries and mango to try and loosen her up a bit. It worked!

Today when she got up from her nap, she was POOPY. Not something I could plop either. And since I’ve been trying new folds, it wasn’t easy to spray off either. (can you see where this is going?)

I am SO glad I bought gloves Wednesday. That puppy got DUNKED and SWISHED right in the toilet! First time doing THAT! It was gross, but better than attempting to spray and getting poo all over my bathroom… Hope I won’t need to do that again, but at least I know I can.

Not that I was curious…

Now Bug is in bed. I scrambled to pick up the house and even vacuumed once she was asleep. No diaper washing for me until Sunday. Who knows, maybe I’ll keep it up? I’ll definitely keep line-drying whenever possible… they smell SO good.

20130524-201519.jpg

Good night!

Leave a Reply

