Day 6 and 7 – Almost done!

The Flats and Handwashing Challenge is coming to a close. Yesterday was Open Topic day, and today is “What Did We Learn?” day.

Yesterday was a lazy, stay home and cuddle kind of day. It was a good diaper day though. I tried the diaper pins again, and got a much better fit. And I didn’t poke myself or Bug! They may just work out after all.

I didn’t wash any diapers yesterday… I was planning to do 2 days worth of washing today during naptime. But considering that Bug has been fighting a nap since 9am (It’s not 12:30pm) I’m not sure that will happen. I will be handwashing this last load though, I promise.

I’ve read that many of the other participants of this challenge have decided to switch completely to flats and covers and sell/trade all their other diapers. I’m not sure I’m ready to take that step.

I do use flats regularly when we are at home. However, I still like the convenience of using a pocket diaper or an All In One when we are out and about. They are just easier. That may change, but for now, I won’t be selling any diapers.

What I have learned, however, is that it is totally possible to diaper a baby/child in just flats and covers. And it is totally possible to hand wash them too, even if it is time consuming.

I’ve learned some new folds and pinning techniques. I love how trim a flat can be when it’s folded correctly!

I’ve also learned several ways to keep an active child still while changing a diaper. And several things that don’t work.

I’ve learned that I don’t have to rely on disposables for things like camping trips. I have a bucket washer now, I can bring and use flats, and I don’t have to bring home a pile of yucky diapers at the end of the trip!

And most of all, I’ve learned that the cloth diapering community is a fun, encouraging, loving and uplifting crowd, who are willing to cheer up a comrade when they feel like giving up. The ladies I’ve chatted with this week on the Challenge Facebook group have been sweet and helpful, always willing to share what they’ve learned, what works, what doesn’t.

This week hasn’t been an easy one with my husband away, but going to that group, and seeing cheery photos of babies and diapers and babies IN diapers helped brighten up the dark times.

So with this week coming to a close, I hope everyone who has read my blog has learned something new. I hope to continue blogging with the regularity, but I can’t promise.

And to those who did the challenge with me this year, I’ll see you next year!

Leave a Reply

