Aaaaaand We’re Back!

If anyone reads this, I’m back. I have been anything but a regular blogger for several years, even though I have buckets of good intentions. But the time has come. The time is now. This is the future. Insert any other motivational slogan here.

This blog is titled “This New House” for a reason. I started it when Handsome and I purchased our house. It was our “new” house. But the house itself is anything but. It was built in the 1970s, and previous owners maintained it, but not correctly. More on that later. We bought the house fully intending to fix it up, update it, and eventually resell it. It was a foreclosure. We had looked at several foreclosures because that was our price range. This was the best one. It looked wonderful, besides being out-dated. 

Long story short, we’ve been making little improvements here and there as we’ve been able to. This most recent tax return was slated towards home improvements before we had even filed our taxes. We didn’t know yet how much we would be able to do, but we were going to do something. Tearing up the old carpet and putting down hardwood floors was one of our top priorities. We are also in the process of renovating the master bathroom and starting on the main bathroom gradually. 

Currently the master bathroom has no sink or vanity. Just open pipes (one of which is dripping slowly into a wastebasket) and old wallpaper. This particular bathroom had a new shower installed right before we bought the house. It was done poorly (read:TERRIBLY) and is unusable currently. The main purpose of this bathroom in it’s current state is an extra toilet (read: Mommy’s chance to pee all alone once Daddy gets home). 

The vanity that was originally in the master bathroom has been moved to the hall bathroom, where it replaced a built-in vanity. The old built-in has been relocated to Handsome’s garage/workshop as a work bench. This bathroom is in full working order (when the drains aren’t backed up due to previous owners “repair” work on a broken pipe) and is good to just sit tight for now.

We purchased a new pedestal sink for the master bathroom, which leaves much more space in that water closet (emphasis on “closet”). That will be installed eventually. We also have tile to lay on the floor, once we fix the issues caused by the improper installation of the shower. Another story for another time.

The biggest purchase has been the hardwood flooring. We found some beautiful cherry at a salvage center. It’s not high grade flooring, but we feel that will just add character. And any pieces that aren’t up to par will be turned into building blocks for Bug or other such projects. 

I have been itching to get the wall-to-wall carpet up since we moved in. Yes, it is soft and squishy in the living/dining areas, but the halls and bedrooms have been trod on so much that the carpet is disgusting and has no padding left. It’s starting to come up at the doorways. And then there’s the fact that having wall-to-wall carpet with children and pets is just not a good idea. We’ve already had several drink spills and cat accidents, and now we are heading into potty training. I would rather clean up a pee puddle on hardwood floors than try to soak it up out of a carpet. Ick. 

We bought the flooring today. Handsome is unloading it as I type. Here’s why I need to write. We’ve discovered a few…. issues. And I need an outlet for my frustration, disappointment, snark and overall helplessness.

We knew we had some issues under the carpet in a corner of the dining room. There has been evidence of water damage. But we were not prepared for what we found.

I told Handsome to stack the flooring in the dining room. We made room, it will be able to acclimate so when we are able to lay it, we won’t have to wait for that. Great plan! Hey, while it’s acclimating, why don’t you pull up that carpet in the corner and just take care of that little issue, then we can move on! 

Except the plywood under the carpet in that corner is crumbling like crackers in a two-year-old’s fist. And then there’s the light coming in from outside. And the rotten sheetrock. And outside there’s the rotten siding. Apparently the gutter had been unattached for who knows how long, and water had just been pouring down the siding, puddling where it found room to puddle, and eating away at my house. So now we have a big issue to deal with before we can lay the flooring. 

I’m not ashamed to admit, I cried. Not for long, and not hard. It was a frustrated cry, a disappointed cry, a hormonal cry.

Did I mention I’m pregnant? No? oh… Surprise!!

So here I am. Writing this, eating a bowl of chocolate chips (pregnant, remember? Don’t judge me) and watching my beast of a husband carry in 2 pallets worth of cherry hardwood flooring. Bug is now awake from her nap, which she got late because we were out buying flooring. I’m waiting as long as I can to go get her up so she won’t be in Handsome’s way, but she’s starting to call “Daddy!” I don’t think I can wait much longer. 

So stick around. Join me on this journey of making this house better, one baby step at a time. Well, I guess you can join me as I watch Handsome make the house better… since I’m pregnant… and can’t lift much… or do much else besides Toddler Control. 

Leave a Reply

