Good morning, beautiful.

It’s morning already. As tired as I was last night, I didn’t go to sleep until almost midnight. Why? Because the dark rabbit hole that is facebook sucked me in and wouldn’t let go. I’m sure I’ll be paying for it today.

Meanwhile, my daughter is starting to wake up. She begins her day with crib yoga. It’s a real thing, in baby worlds. Name that pose:
20140324-081045.jpg

While she does her wake up thing, I’m sitting on the floor in my living room, typing this, and sipping on this beautiful beverage. Ahh, coffee. The drink that barely keeps me from being a Mombie all day long. The drink that puts a smile on my face and a song in my heart (javajavajava). The drink that Bug like’s to “sip,” once the mug isn’t too hot, of course.
20140324-081019.jpg

That’s another adventure. Bug’s vocabulary. She will be 2 in May. (When did that happen??? and how do I make it stop???) And over the past 3 months or so her vocabulary has exploded. This kid is a genius, I’m sure of it. I know, most parents say that about their kids… And I could be wrong, but she seems extra smart to me.

Bug loves loves LOVES to read. Books are her drug (like her Momma) and she just can’t get enough. We read before bed, before nap, before lunch… She takes a book with her to every diaper change and reads it to me. She grabs a book and curls up around my ever-growing belly to read to Baby. Books are her world. And she can now say “book” and “read” and does so with great force if I don’t comply the first time.

We’ve been teaching her the names of her body parts, like arm, leg, nose, bum (yes, bum) and she’s taught herself some of them too. She started saying “mouth” and “chin” all on her own. And speaking of mouths, when this child wants to eat, she lets you know. Loudly. Usually, the first words out of her mouth in the morning are “Hi!” and “Eat!” We must eat before we do anything else.

And the attitude! I can’t even put that into type… It’s hard to type that kind of inflection that she uses. It just amazes me what she picks up just being around me and Handsome. Remember those old recording toys we had as kids, the YackBack? Yeah, Bug is a YackBack. I’ve had to consciously remember to NOT say the words I want to when I discover one of the cats had torn into a brand new loaf of bread and strewn crumbs all over the kitchen floor, or knocked over a house plant, or pooped in the bathtub (again). She has not repeated THOSE words yet… but I’m sure the day is coming when I’ll slip up and yell out a “Stupid cat!” and I’ll hear her little voice from the other room copying me. I think I will cry on that day.

I hear my name. Yep, Bug is calling for Mommy. Time to go get my snuggles and kisses and warm just-woke-up toddler hugs. The best part of my day.

Leave a Reply

