A little bragging…

This morning I would like to take a minute to brag. Yes, I know bragging is not supposed to be a good thing, but in this case, I think you will forgive me.

Today I want to brag about my husband.

This man has put up with a lot from me, especially recently. These pregnancy hormones have been killer. But besides that, I have not always been the grown up that I pretend to be today. In the early days of our marriage, I acted like a spoiled brat quite often. But Handsome is long-suffering. And we have both pulled through some really rotten times to come out on top now almost 5 years later.

Five years. We’ve been married for 5 years!! That means we’ve been together for 9 years. Almost a decade with the same man, and all I can think now is, “I can’t wait to spend the next decade with this same, incredible man.”

During this almost-decade, this handsome fellow I’m happily married to has accomplished a lot. He has graduated college, gotten a full-time job while still in college that is in a field he feels passionate about, and he still has that job. He has travelled all around the world, seen countries and people I can only daydream about. He helps to bring the message of Jesus’ love to people who may not hear it otherwise. He works hard, going above and beyond frequently, to make sure the work is done. He takes pride in his work, and rightly so.

Besides work, he is a fantastic husband and father. He works to provide for us as a family so I can be home with Bug and Baby. He loves his girl so much, I can see it in his eyes every time he talks about her or spends time with her. I can see his heart swell when she says “love you” in her little voice before he leaves for work or before she goes to bed. He makes sure to read her bedtime stories and tuck her in every night he is able to. When she does something new or comes out with a new word, he puffs up with pride. He is a champion Daddy.

And as a husband, I couldn’t ask for better. He may be in for a wild, hormonal ride right now, but he has kept up admirably. He listens, he guides, he cooks. He makes sure to kiss me every morning when he leaves for work and every evening when he gets home. He has worked with me to make our marriage a priority, even after having Bug, and even with the demands of work. I can depend on him, no matter what.

And the best thing about my husband?

He’s mine.

He’s not perfect, he doesn’t always have the answers, he does get frustrated with me, he is sometimes frustrating to me.

But he’s mine. And I love him to bits.

Leave a Reply

